Skip to content
comparison · free tiers, honestly

The best free coaching apps in 2026.

Compare permanent free coach plans by client allowance, included tasks and upgrade requirements. QuickCoach, Everfit and Trainerize publish clear caps; FitSW’s free cap needs confirmation. Use the client-count check below, then test the functions you need. Coachway is our own paid platform and has a 14-day trial, with no permanent free plan.

By Markus Evers · Updated September 5, 2026

How this comparison is made: we check every competitor's pricing and features against their live websites and re-verify them on a recurring basis. We build Coachway, so we flag it wherever it appears, we credit real competitor strengths, and we say who each platform fits better than us. Browse all platform comparisons.

the short version

QuickCoach Free covers up to 20 clients, Everfit Starter five and Trainerize Free one. FitSW also describes a basic free account, but its current FAQ does not specify the client allowance. A free coach plan, a paid-feature trial and a free client login are different offers. Check the client allowance first, then test the service you intend to deliver.

Will your client list fit a free plan?

Check the published client allowance first, then compare the functions below. A client list that fits the limit may still need paid nutrition, branding or payment features. Sources checked September 5, 2026.

At 5 active clients, QuickCoach Free and Everfit Starter fit the published allowance. FitSW's limit needs confirmation.

Plan and sourceClient limitAllowance check
QuickCoach Free 20 Fits 5 clients
Everfit Starter 5 Fits 5 clients
Trainerize Free 1 Above the free limit
FitSW Free Not stated in the FAQ Confirm with vendor

A free client login is different from a free coach subscription. Hevy Coach and Coachway have paid coach plans and time-limited trials; neither is included as a permanent free coach plan here.

What to verify in each free plan.

PlatformFree-plan scope to checkPaid functions to distinguish
QuickCoachReusable programs and tasks; check history access after a Pro trial.Pro adds nutrition, branding and full history; workflow automation and barcode scanning have separate add-ons.
EverfitStarter lists workouts, metrics, tasks, messaging and coach/client apps.Pro includes basic meal plans and branding; advanced recipe tools and Autoflow are separate.
FitSWBasic workouts, meal plans and tasks; confirm the client and usage caps.Receiving payments and live classes require a paid plan; custom apps are separate purchases.
TrainerizeOne coaching client; test the needed functions in the actual Free plan.Additional clients require a paid plan; check nutrition, branding and payment options separately.

Read the QuickCoach review and Everfit review for the distinction between base nutrition functions and paid extras. A free cap does not tell you whether your particular check-in, meal plan or export is supported.

use this page with ChatGPT

Run this comparison against your own client week with ChatGPT

Paste the table and your client week and the model returns the two rows that pass, the one that fails first as you grow, and the first thing to test in each trial, from the table only; it cannot see current pricing or your clients. Score the trials with the trial scorecard and the five criteria in how to choose an online coaching platform.

Which free plans pass my client week?

When to use it: After reading the free-plan checks above, before you start a trial.

What to paste in: The comparison table above, your client count now and in a year, three must-have features, budget and country.

Below is a comparison table of coaching apps, copied from my reference page. My situation: [N] clients now and [N] expected in twelve months, the three features I cannot lose are [FEATURE 1, 2, 3], budget [AMOUNT] a month, and my clients are in [COUNTRY]. Using only the table, tell me which two rows pass and why, which one fails first as I grow, and the single thing to test on day one of each trial. Do not add features or prices that are not in the table; mark anything unsure with (unsure).

TABLE:
[PASTE THE COMPARISON TABLE]

QuickCoach: a free plan for up to 20 clients.

The plan comparison lists reusable programs and a task library in Free. Pro has unlimited clients and adds richer check-ins, nutrition and full workout/file history. The Pro guide describes its branded app as installed from the browser on iPhone and Android, rather than a separate native store listing. That delivery format is a device test, not evidence of missing nutrition.

Run the same client week after any paid-feature trial ends. Check which records remain visible and exportable, and confirm any billing workflow you intend to replace.

Everfit: five clients, with separate free and paid feature lists.

Everfit’s Starter plan includes a workout builder, progress records, tasks and messaging. Pro adds food journals, macro tracking, basic meal plans and branding. The distinction matters: not all nutrition requires a separate add-on, but those Pro functions should not be assumed to belong to Starter.

For nutrition-led services, test recipe creation and the client’s meal view. The recipe documentation allows up to 20 custom recipes on Pro or Studio; more extensive recipe needs may require the Meal Plans & Recipe Books add-on.

Trials and free client apps belong in a separate comparison.

Hevy Coach has a paid coach plan from USD 25/month for ten clients and a 30-day trial. Clients using the included Hevy experience do not make the coach subscription free.

Coachway has a 14-day trial with a card required. Its base subscription costs EUR 69/month for five clients plus EUR 9 per extra client, with optional built-in payments at 2.4% per transaction. Included in-app branding is confirmed. A separate app-store listing needs its own availability and pricing confirmation.

Measure the work a paid plan would remove.

Record one week of repeatable admin: copying a plan, checking a food log, finding a reply, reconciling a payment and exporting a record. Then repeat those tasks in the proposed paid plan. Price only the time you can actually recover. A new subscription may improve delivery without lowering costs, and a free setup may remain the better fit.

For example, if a paid option costs EUR 40 more per month and saves two usable hours you value at EUR 25 each, your estimated time value is EUR 50. The EUR 10 difference is an assumption-based comparison, not guaranteed revenue. If the time saving is zero, it does not justify the extra cost on that basis.

Use the tool-stack cost calculator for recurring subscriptions and the trial scorecard to record task results. Before a switch, check sample exports and the next billing date with the migration guide.

Choose the plan that passes your client week.

  • Your client list fits a confirmed free cap: try the plan before buying features you do not need.
  • Your service needs nutrition or branding: compare the required paid tier with the actual task list. Separate basic functions from advanced extras.
  • A cap is unclear: ask the vendor for the current limit and record the answer before onboarding clients.
  • You are comparing a full platform: use the wider coaching-app comparison and per-client pricing calculator to build a paid shortlist.
questions coaches actually ask

Frequently asked.

What is the best free coaching app?

Start with the required tasks and client count. QuickCoach Free allows 20 clients, Everfit Starter five and Trainerize Free one. FitSW describes a basic free account but its FAQ does not state the cap. The client-count check on this page compares allowances; it does not establish that a plan includes every feature you need.

Is Coachway free?

Coachway has a 14-day trial with a card required, followed by a paid subscription unless cancelled under Billing. It has no permanent free tier. The base price is EUR 69 per month for up to five clients plus EUR 9 per extra client; optional built-in payments cost 2.4% per transaction.

What is the catch with free coaching apps?

Check client, feature, history and export limits separately. A permanent free plan can remain suitable if those limits meet your service. A paid-feature trial may show functions that disappear when you return to the free plan, so repeat the necessary tasks in the actual free tier.

Can I run a real coaching business on a free app?

Yes, if the allowance and workflow meet your needs. There is no universal client count at which a free plan becomes unsuitable. Include any separate billing, nutrition or communication tools in the comparison, and measure your own admin time instead of assuming a fixed number of hours.

When should I switch from a free coaching app to a paid one?

Consider paying when you exceed a necessary allowance, need a specific paid function, or observe enough recurring work that the paid option is worth its total cost. Test the replacement before switching. A larger client list alone does not require a different platform if the current plan still fits.

Do free coaching apps include payments?

FitSW’s FAQ excludes receiving payments from Free; Everfit and Trainerize offer payment functions through paid options. Verify provider, country eligibility, recurring billing and transaction charges. An own Stripe account does not guarantee that subscriptions can move automatically between platforms.

Can ChatGPT pick a coaching app for me?

It can filter the table you give it against your client count, must-have features and budget, which is a good way to get from ten rows to two trials. It cannot see current pricing, free-tier limits or your clients, and it will invent a feature if the prompt lets it, so the prompt on this page restricts it to the table. The decision is made in the trial, with your own client week.

built for online coaches

Danish-built, down to the details.

coachway is developed in Denmark and built on more than six years of work with 150 online coaches. Billing runs through the coach's own Stripe account, so payments go directly to the coach, with EU VAT and invoicing handled automatically through Stripe Tax. Client data handling is GDPR-aligned, with export to CSV and PDF at any time, and the client app is localized in six languages - English, Danish, Norwegian, Swedish, Finnish and German. Most international coaching platforms offer none of the Nordic languages.

  • - Developed in Denmark, built on work with 150 online coaches over 6+ years
  • - Payments direct to your own Stripe, EU VAT and invoicing via Stripe Tax
  • - GDPR-aligned data handling, export to CSV and PDF at any time
  • - Client app in six languages, reviewed by native-speaking coaches

If the app you are choosing is the AI assistant rather than the coaching platform, ChatGPT vs Claude vs Gemini for fitness coaches compares the three by task, and every prompt from our AI guides is in the free AI prompt pack for online coaches. If the question is "what is AI coaching" in the first place, the definition page sorts the three types.

Test Coachway against your client week.

Try workouts, nutrition, check-ins and chat during the 14-day trial. A card is required; no charge today, and you can cancel under Billing. Compare the task results and total cost before deciding.

No charge today - cancel anytime under Billing
Built for efficiency 6 languages DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinlandGermanyUnited Kingdom
The coaching platform you've been waiting for